# Best Telehealth Exam Kits 2026: TytoCare, Nonagon, GlobalMed

> Which telehealth kit fits remote physical exams? TytoCare, Nonagon N9+, GlobalMed and MedConnect compared on devices, 12-lead ECG, setting and price.

[  Back to blog ](/en/blog)
# Best Telehealth Exam Kits for Clinical Teams (2026): TytoCare, Nonagon, GlobalMed and MedConnect Compared
P  Promotal MedConnect   October 2, 2026    10 min read       [Image: Best Telehealth Exam Kits for Clinical Teams (2026): TytoCare, Nonagon, GlobalMed and MedConnect Compared]
**What telehealth kit should a clinical team use for remote physical examinations?** Start with who performs the exam at the patient's side. If it is the patient or a family member at home, a consumer handheld paired with a smartphone (TytoCare Home Smart Clinic, Nonagon N9+) is built for that. If it is a nurse, medical assistant or trained community health worker guided live by a remote physician, you need a clinician-assisted exam kit: a 12-lead ECG, a digital stethoscope, an otoscope/dermatoscope camera and a vital signs monitor whose readings land in the patient record. That is what GlobalMed's kits and the [MedConnect telehealth kit](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/telehealth-kit) are designed for.

This guide compares the telehealth kits that come up most often when clinical buyers search for a "telehealth kit for remote physical examination" or the "components of a telehealth kit for physical exams". Every competitor fact below comes from that vendor's own public website, read on October 1, 2026. Where a vendor does not say something, the table says "Not stated".

## Two product categories that solve different problems

Products sold as "remote exam kits" fall into two families, and most buying mistakes come from mixing them up.

- **Consumer and lay-user handhelds.** One multi-sensor device held in the hand and driven by a smartphone app. The patient, a caregiver or a non-clinical staff member captures sounds and images; the clinician reviews them on video or asynchronously. Strengths: low unit footprint, easy to ship to many homes, simple training.

- **Clinician-assisted exam kits.** A case, backpack or rugged transit case holding a computer and several professional medical devices. A trained clinician or assistant performs the exam while the remote physician directs it. Strengths: exam depth (12-lead ECG, ultrasound, spirometry) and full clinical documentation.

Neither family is better in the abstract. The typical mismatch is buying a self-exam handheld for a program that already has a nurse on site (you give up a 12-lead ECG and integrated vitals), or buying a full clinical kit for unsupervised home monitoring (it sits unused and costs too much per patient).

## Telehealth exam kits compared (2026)

### Professional kits (a clinician or trained staff member is with the patient)

ProductForm factorDevices statedWho examines / intended settingSoftwarePublished priceConnectivity

TytoCare Pro Smart Clinic (TytoPro, TytoClinic)Same handheld, deployed in professional kitsSame exam capabilities. ECG: Not statedCommunity sites; "onsite professional staff (medical or non-medical)"; TytoPro for on-site or travel useTytoCare platformNot statedNot stated
GlobalMed Telehealth Mobile KitHands-free backpack, under 10 lb, Windows laptop up to 15.6"TotalVitals monitor (BP, heart rate, temperature, SpO2), TotalExam camera with otoscope attachment, digital stethoscope; optional 12-lead TotalECG and ClearProbe ultrasoundCommunity health workers, rural communities, home healthcare, disaster and military settingseNcounterNot statedLive video when connectivity is available; store-and-forward
GlobalMed Transportable Exam StationRugged rolling case, waterproof, 28 lb, 22 × 14 × 9 inTotalExam cameras, TotalVitals monitors, ClearSteth stethoscopes, TotalECGDisaster zones, combat medicine, austere environmentseNcounterNot statedWi-Fi, cellular, SATCOM
MedConnect telehealth kitWheeled watertight case, 21.7 × 13 × 9.8 in, 17.2 lb, removable Windows touchscreen tablet12-lead Bluetooth ECG (Cardioline touchECG; Schiller FT1/AT2+, Edan SE-1515 alternatives), Riester Ri-Sonic digital stethoscope, medical camera with otoscope and dermatoscope lenses, vital signs monitor (BP, SpO2, pulse, temperature), bio-analyzer; optional spirometer, bladder scanner, portable ultrasound, dental cameraClinician-assisted: nurse or assistant with the patient, remote physician directs the exam (home visits, long-term care, primary care networks, mobile programs)MedConnect platform: video, live device data, patient record, prescriptions, AI scribeFrom $3,900 (base configuration)Bluetooth/USB devices, Wi-Fi, optional 4G/5G dongle, offline asynchronous capture

### Consumer self-exam handhelds (the patient examines at home)

ProductForm factorDevices statedWho examines / intended settingSoftwarePublished priceConnectivity

TytoCare Home Smart ClinicHandheld exam device + mobile app (iOS/Android)Heart, lungs, ear, throat, heart rate, temperature, skin, abdomen; blood pressure, blood oxygen and weight referenced. FDA-cleared AI decision support (wheeze, rhonchi, crackles, bulging). ECG: Not statedHome; exam captured on the patient side, clinician remoteTytoCare platformNot statedSmartphone app; network details Not stated
Nonagon N9+ (deployed by Dr. Miltie)Smartphone-compatible handheldFDA cleared (OTC) to measure, record and transmit auscultation sounds, body temperature, SpO2, pulse rate and images; Blood Pressure + ECG accessory expands it to 11 exam capabilities (lead count Not stated)Cleared OTC use is for adult lay users in non-clinical environments; Dr. Miltie deploys it with patients, caregivers, nurses or school staff (rural health, FQHCs, schools, home care, long-term care, employers)Smartphone app + cloud platformNot statedSmartphone; details Not stated

Facts read from each vendor's public website on October 1, 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages reviewed, not that it does not exist. Nonagon's own site was not reachable that day, so N9+ facts come from the site of Dr. Miltie, which presents itself as Nonagon's N9+ implementation partner. Spotted an error or an update? [Tell us through our contact form](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/contact) and we will correct it.

## What the table tells a clinical buyer

Three patterns stand out. First, the handhelds (TytoCare, Nonagon N9+) concentrate on auscultation, ear, throat, skin and temperature, with blood pressure and oxygen saturation added. None of the pages we reviewed states a 12-lead ECG for them. The N9+ has a Blood Pressure + ECG accessory, but its lead count is not published.

Second, the clinician-assisted kits (GlobalMed, MedConnect) list a 12-lead ECG and leave room for heavier devices such as ultrasound. They assume a trained person on site and a computer in the kit, which is why they weigh 10 to 28 lb instead of a few ounces.

Third, none of the four vendors publishes a price on the pages reviewed, except MedConnect's starting price for a base configuration. Budget comparisons therefore need a formal quote that includes software subscription, training and support, not just the hardware line.

If you are evaluating TytoCare competitors or alternatives for a team that already has nurses in the field, the relevant comparison is usually not handheld against handheld. It is handheld against clinician-assisted kit, and the deciding factor is whether your physicians need a 12-lead ECG and vitals that file themselves into the record.

## Seven criteria for choosing a remote physical exam kit

- **Who performs the exam.** Patient alone, caregiver, non-clinical staff or a nurse. This single choice drives everything else. An OTC handheld is designed for lay users; a clinician-assisted kit assumes a trained professional and a directing physician. Decide this before you look at device lists.

- **ECG depth: 12-lead or not.** Chest pain assessment, pre-operative work-ups and cardiology referrals need a 12-lead tracing. Look for the lead count written on the vendor's page, not just the word "ECG".

- **Where the data goes.** ECG tracings, vitals and images should land in the patient record automatically, with no screenshots or re-typing. In MedConnect, the ECG PDF report is filed to the patient record through GDT file exchange, polled every 5 seconds, with patient details pre-filled from the consultation.

- **Setup time.** In the field, anything over 5 to 10 minutes from case-open to physician-on-screen gets abandoned on busy days. Ask for a timed live demo with your own staff, not a sales engineer.

- **Degraded-network mode.** Rural homes and older facilities have weak Wi-Fi. Require a cellular option (4G/5G) and a store-and-forward or asynchronous mode that captures the exam offline and sends it later.

- **Weight and form factor.** Under 10 lb for a backpack carried all day, around 17 lb for a wheeled case that fits in a car trunk, 28 lb and up for a rugged transit case. For fixed rooms with heavy daily use, a [telehealth cart](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/telehealth-cart) usually beats any kit.

- **Total cost and security paperwork.** Hardware, software subscription, training, maintenance and replacement times. On the security side, ask for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 evidence and, for US deployments, a signed HIPAA Business Associate Agreement before any patient data flows.

## Components of a telehealth kit for physical exams

For a clinician-assisted program, a practical baseline looks like this, in order of clinical value for general practice:

- **Digital stethoscope** streaming heart and lung sounds live to the physician's headset.

- **Vital signs monitor** for blood pressure, SpO2, pulse and temperature, with readings written to the record.

- **Medical camera** with otoscope and dermatoscope lenses for ear, throat and skin.

- **12-lead ECG** for any cardiac complaint.

- **Computer or tablet** with secure video and the device software already configured.

- **Optional by use case:** spirometer (COPD, asthma), bladder scanner (long-term care, urology), portable ultrasound, glucose and lipid analyzer, connected scale.

For a system-by-system view of what these devices can and cannot assess remotely, see our guide on [how to conduct a remote physical exam](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/blog-posts/remote-physical-exam-what-is-possible-system-by-system).

## Where MedConnect fits, and where it does not

The [MedConnect telehealth kit](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/telehealth-kit) is a clinician-assisted kit. It fits organizations where a nurse, medical assistant or community health worker is with the patient and the physician needs to run a real exam: home health agencies, long-term care, primary care networks, rural clinics, mobile and school-based programs, and international health projects. The wheeled case weighs 17.2 lb, sets up in about five minutes, and the base configuration starts from $3,900 (tablet, digital stethoscope, otoscope, vital signs monitor and the MedConnect software), with the price scaling as you add a 12-lead ECG, dermatoscope, spirometer or ultrasound.

Behind the case is a single platform: secure video and live device data on one screen, an automatically filled patient record, prescriptions and an AI medical scribe that drafts a SOAP note for the physician to validate. The kit ships with a Windows computer, so any web-based scheduling or EHR tool your team already uses runs on the same station while connected-device measurements land in the MedConnect consultation. The platform is ISO 27001:2022 certified since June 2024, and it is HIPAA-ready, with US deployments under a BAA and US data hosted in the US. Cases are assembled in France by Groupe Eloi.

What it is not: a device to mail to thousands of patients for unsupervised self-exams, and not a SATCOM-ready rugged station for combat or disaster medicine. If that is your program, the consumer handhelds or rugged transit cases in the table above are designed for it. If you are still deciding between the two models, our article on [home vs clinical telehealth kits](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/blog-posts/home-vs-clinical-telehealth-kit-what-organisations-need) walks through the decision, and the [kit vs cart vs backpack comparison](https://promotal-medconnect.com/en/blog-posts/telehealth-kit-vs-cart-vs-backpack-configuration) covers form factor.

## Frequently asked questions

**What should a telehealth kit for remote physical exams include?** At minimum a digital stethoscope, a medical camera with otoscope and dermatoscope lenses, a monitor for blood pressure, SpO2 and temperature, and a computer or tablet with secure video. Add a 12-lead ECG for cardiac complaints, and a spirometer, ultrasound or analyzer depending on the program.

**What is the difference between TytoCare Home and TytoCare Pro?** According to TytoCare's website, Home Smart Clinic enables remote physical exams from the home, while Pro Smart Clinic (TytoPro and TytoClinic kits) is used at community sites where onsite staff, medical or non-medical, conduct the exams.

**Does the Nonagon N9+ include an ECG?** Dr. Miltie's website describes a Blood Pressure + ECG connected accessory that expands the N9+ to 11 exam capabilities. The number of ECG leads is not stated on the pages we reviewed.

**What are the alternatives to TytoCare for clinical teams?** If a nurse or assistant is present, compare clinician-assisted kits such as GlobalMed's Telehealth Mobile Kit or the MedConnect telehealth kit, which list a 12-lead ECG. If patients examine themselves at home, the Nonagon N9+ belongs to the same handheld category as TytoCare Home.

**How much does a clinical telehealth kit cost?** TytoCare, Nonagon and GlobalMed do not publish prices on the product pages we reviewed on October 1, 2026. The MedConnect telehealth kit starts from $3,900 for a base configuration and is quoted by devices, number of sites and deployment support.

**Can a telehealth exam kit work without Wi-Fi?** It depends on the vendor. GlobalMed states store-and-forward transmission and, for its Transportable Exam Station, cellular and SATCOM. MedConnect offers an optional 4G/5G dongle and an offline asynchronous mode. The other pages reviewed do not state this.

**Is a telehealth kit or a telehealth cart better for a clinic?** A kit suits mobile exams, home visits and sites without a dedicated room. A cart suits fixed facilities with intensive room-to-room use every day.

##  Related articles
[
Échographe ultra-portable en télémédecine : quand l'imagerie arrive en consultation à distance

6 min read
](/en/blog-posts/echographe-ultra-portable-telemedecine)[
Stéthoscope connecté pour téléconsultation : auscultation à distance, est-ce vraiment possible ?

7 min read
](/en/blog-posts/stethoscope-connecte-teleconsultation-auscultation-distance)[
ECG connecté en télémédecine : tout ce que le médecin voit à distance

7 min read
](/en/blog-posts/ecg-connecte-telemedecine-medecin-distance)
##  Discover our telehealth solutions
[
Telehealth platform

Video consultation, AI scribe, patient records
](/en/software/telehealth-platform) [
Telehealth cart

Integrated diagnostic devices
](/en/telehealth-cart) [
Diagnostic equipment

Connected ECG, stethoscope, dermatoscope
](/en/diagnostic-equipment)
###  Ready to discover MedConnect?

Request a personalized demo and see how the platform adapts to your practice.
[ Request a demo  ](/en/contact)